Look Below
International Initiative in Defence of the Quality of the Night Sky as Mankind’s Scientific, Cultural and Environmental Heritage

Scientific Committee

Starlight Scientific Committee


The Scientific Committee of the Starlight Initiative is made up by a wide representation of experts in the fields of astronomy, culture, information, environment and nature conservation, energy, lighting, tourism, law, and sustainable development, seeking to approach the different dimensions of the International Initiative in Defence of the Night Sky and the Right to Observe the Stars.


Chair: Jafar JAFARI. University of Wisconsin. USA
Co-Chair: Cipriano MARÍN. Starlight Initiative.


Tomás AZCÁRATE BANG. President. Responsible Tourism Institute.
Pedro BALLESTEROS TORRES. Principal Administrator, DG TREN - European Commission.
Marco BARBIERI. Secretariat of the  Convention on the Conservation  of Migratory Species of Wild Animals.
Alexander BOKSENBERG. President of the U.K. National Commission for UNESCO. Professor of Experimental Astronomy at the University of Cambridge. 
Peter BRIDGEWATER. Former Secretary-general of the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands.
Manuel CENDAGORTA. Director, ITER  (Institute of Technology and Renewable Energy)
David L. CRAWFORD. Executive Director. International Dark-Sky Association (IDA).
Rafael DARANAS HERNÁNDEZ. Scientific Committee of La Palma Biosphere Reserve.
Maguelonne DEJEANT-PONS. Head of the Spatial Planning and Landscape Division Council of Europe.
Eduardo FAYOS SOLA. President, Ulysses Fundation. Former Executive Secretary, UNWTO Knowledge Network (United Nations – World Tourism Organization).
Antonio FERNÁNDEZ RODRÍGUEZ. Vice-rector for Research. University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
Manuel Nicolás FERNÁNDEZ RODRÍGUEZ. Scientific Committee of La Palma Biosphere Reserve.
Javier GALLEGO. Former Director-general of UNWTO-Themis Foundation, University of Valencia.
Juan José NEGRO. CSIC (Higher Council for Scientific Resarch-Spain). Director of the Doñana Biological Station.
Natarajan ISHWARAN. Former Director of Division of Ecological and Earth Sciences UNESCO, HIST China.
Hiroji ISOZAKI. Meiji Gakuin University, Japan.
Wolf Michael IWAND. Former TUI AG Executive Director, Group Corporate Environmental Management.
Lamine KADI. University of Mostaganem, Algeria.
Angel LANDABASO. DG – RTD, European Commission.
Pierre LASSERRE. Member of the Academia Europaea Pierre & Marie Curie University.
Gloria LÓPEZ MORALES. Coordinator of Cultural Patrimony, Development and Tourism, Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes - Mexico.
Juan Antonio MENÉNDEZ-PIDAL. Director for Spain of Unión Latina.
Nigel POLLARD. Director Division 5 (Exterior lighting), International Commission on Illumination (CIE).
César PORTELA. Architect.
Luis RAMALLO. President of the Spanish National Commission for UNESCO.
Clive RUGGLES. Chair for the IAU World Heritage and Astronomy Working Group. University of Leicester.
Malcolm G. SMITH. Former Director, AURA Observatory in Chile & President of IAU Division XII.
Francisco SÄNCHEZ. Director, Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC).
Arnoldo SANTOS. Scientific Committee of La Palma Biosphere Reserve.
Antonio SERRANO RODRÍGUEZ. Spanish Ministery of Environment.
Anna SIDORENKO-DULOM. Coordinator of the UNESCO Thematic Initiative Astronomy and World Heritage, UNESCO World Heritage Centre.
Arthouros ZERVOS. Chairman of Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century (REN21).

Starlight Scientific Committee


More information




Starlight Initiative collaborates with the


Starlight Finder

Starlight related links


Covenant of Mayors Related Initiative


Colaborating with IAU Working Group


IUCN Dark Sky Advisory Group


Dark Skies Awareness Project


Partnership Unesco-MaB


Member of the Knowledge Network


Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias

The Starlight Initiative is designed as an international action in defence of the values associated with the night sky and the general right to observe the stars. It is open to the participation of all scientific, cultural, environmental, and citizens' organizations...

In partnership with:

150px-iau_logo.svg unwto_knnwt200